The Isaiah Effect: Decoding the Lost Science of Prayer and Prophecy by Gregg Braden


Monica Batholomew
Student, Bridge Program

Although I read this book a while ago I hold onto it even when I give others books in my library away. I want to re-read it, revisit it. I’ve recommended it to others, in particular my father who is open-minded. You have to allow yourself to read it with an open-mind.

Ahh, “the lost science…” That part of the title really appealed to me. This book is based around “The Book of Isaiah.” It was the only intact and sealed scroll among the Dead Sea Scrolls.

It’s the prayer part of the book that I remember best. There’s a science to prayer that we’ve lost. When Braden traveled the world seeking and studying spiritual leaders he learned that traditionally prayers were said from a place of abundance, even though there was deprivation, such as with the American Indian rain dance.

One of his visits was to investigate the life of the “green monk” so called because this man’s diet consisted of so much vegetation his skin took on a green hue. This monk left an impression of his hand in a cave wall because of his ability to see everything in the world as one, not separate from us. Through the power of his mind he is said to have moved his hand into the wall of the cave. This story really shook me up so I double checked it on-line. Braden visited the cave and saw the impression. As I said, you have to have to read this book with an open mind.

What Braden encourages us to do is re-train our thinking toward the positive. I learned to double check my thinking after reading this book. I need to be reminded to do that, which may be why this book is so important to me.
__________
Interview with Gregg Braden, Wynn Free

Leave a comment