Conversations With God by Neale Donald Walsch


Chris Freeman
Director of Financial Aid

I’m not sure if athiest is an accurate word to describe my opinions about God. Agnostic might be, but it isn’t quite strong enough. My opinion is that we will never have the answer to the ultimate questions regarding any supposed after-life. And, I’m okay with not knowing! Many people are not. Consider this: if our brains can barely fathom infinity, how can we get close to fathoming that which created infinity? Can dogs perform calculus???

That said, I find that I am more open to possibilities than perhaps someone who is in the “God said it, I believe it, that settles it” category. Since I don’t believe in anything, I can dabble in everything. And I am constantly in search of something that comes close to capturing the essence of my opinions on the subject.

A good friend who knows me well gave me this book shortly after it came out. He knew that it would be up my alley … and it is! If you can get past the conceit of the book, that the author is having a conversation with our maker, you’ll find that it is a fascinating breakdown of our constructs of religion and how we have misconstrued so many of our spiritual leaders’ thoughts, words and intentions over the centuries. And have lost the true meaning of life: there is none. We all give life the meaning we want it to have, based on our unique experience.

The likelihood that a God of any form exists is nearly zippo. I’ve read a lot of Stephen Hawking and Richard Dawkins, and it’s hard to look at the facts and say that there is any significant proof of a supreme being. Much as I would like there to be … then I’d have someone to blame! 😉 But even though the odds are impossibly slim-to-none, I found a lot in this book that resonated with me. If only it were true.
__________
Pema Chödrön & bell hooks talk over life and all its problems, Shambala Sun magazine
“Does God exist? The case for reconciling the scientific with the divine — and against the anti-religion of Richard Dawkins,” Alan Lihgtman, Salon
Does God Exist? Debate between Christopher Hitchens and William Lane Craig, Biola University
Does God Exist? Dr. Greg Bahnsen versus Dr. Gordon Stein, University of California, Irvine

Leave a Reply

