Out of Africa by Isak Dinesen


Megan McCord
Tutor, Writing Center
Alumna, MFA

I have many favorite books, but one I come back to over and over as having made an impression on me is Isak Dinesen’s Out of Africa. I read it first in my teens (after seeing the film) and was inspired by Karen Blixen’s independence and courage in an environment where she was unaccepted and for which she was unprepared. I re-read it in my twenties, and understood different things about her story, like her unconventional love affair with Denys Finch-Hatton, and how Africa grew to be a part of her. It’s been over a decade since I’ve given it a thorough reading, but I often will pick it up and flip to a page and read a little.

That’s my book!
________
Unconditional Love. Tupak Shakur
Isak Dinesen, Extravagant Crowd. Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Yale University
“Clara, you must see the delightful lions; then we’ll get some postcards and go for lunch.” Isak Dinesen interviewed by The Paris Review, Rome, early summer, 1956.

Leave a Reply

